----Begin Code---- ----End Code----

EDS Announces Two Lilly Endowment Scholarship Recipients and First Alternate

Written By: 

Amanda Bultemeier

Evansville Day School announces that two of their seniors, Marshall Craft and Tyler Myers, have been selected as 2023 recipients of the Vanderburgh County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships. In addition, senior Shriya Naraya was selected as the 2023 first alternate. “Only ten finalists are selected from all the seniors in Vanderburgh County annually, and we are beyond proud to have three of the ten finalists at our school. Each of these deserving students is incredibly hard working, dedicated to both academics and leadership that better the world around them. They are shining examples of the Portrait of a Graduate that Day School strives to achieve with each individual student,” said Kevin Kunst, Head of School.

“Our community has many students who excel both academically and in service to others. The selection process is never easy,” said Sidney Hardgrave, Regional Director of Community Engagement and Impact for the Vanderburgh Community Foundation.

Eighty-two applications were submitted in the county this year. In determining Vanderburgh County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholar nominees, consideration was given to academic achievement, involvement in the community, extracurricular activities, two essays, and an interview by the LECSP Nominating Committee. After the field of applicants was narrowed down, nominees were submitted to ICI, the statewide administrator of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program, which approves the final selection of scholarship recipients.

Marshall Craft is the son of Jeremy and Angela Craft. He is interested in a career in engineering and robotics. Marshall is an active volunteer, having served with the Evansville Rescue Mission, Jacob’s Village, and the Tri-State Food Bank. Marshall also participates and has leadership roles in numerous activities at school, including Student Leadership Council, musical productions, sports, and robotics. 

Tyler Myers is the son of Eric and Dana Myers. He is interested in studying psychology and pursuing a career as a psychiatrist. Tyler has volunteered with the Tri-State Food Bank, Easterseals, Dream Center, Susan B. Komen, and Feed My Starving Children. He also founded Sensory Inclusion, a local nonprofit organization that provides noise-canceling headphones and other items to assist special needs individuals to cope with overstimulating environments. During high school, he participated in Student Leadership Council, yearbook, and is a top athlete in multiple sports. 

“This year’s recipients impressed the committee with their accomplishments, leadership skills, and maturity,” said Hardgrave. 

First Alternate Shriya Naraya is the daughter of Giridhar and Divya Naraya. She is interested in pursuing a career in the medical field and is trilingual. Shriya has volunteered at Tri-State Food Bank, Vanderburgh Humane Society, Red Cross, Evansville Rescue Mission, Vanderburgh County Public Library, and Good Samaritan Nursing Home. At school, she serves as Student Leadership Council Vice President, editor of the Upper School newspaper, and a peer tutor. She also participates in the speech team, academic bowl, and performs in school musicals. 

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years. The scholarship is for undergraduate students studying on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars may also participate in the Lilly Scholars Network (LSN), which connects both current scholars and alumni with resources and opportunities to be active leaders on their campuses and in their communities. Both the scholarship program and LSN are supported by grants from Lilly Endowment to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) and Indiana Humanities.

Evansville Day School would like to recognize and thank the Vanderburgh Community Foundation and the Lilly Endowment for providing this life-changing opportunity to our students.